Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Chris Thomas Among 22 finalists for John R. Wooden Award

March 10, 2003

Los Angeles, Calif. – Sophomore point guard Chris Thomas (Indianapolis, Ind.) was one of 22 players today named to the official ballot for the 2003 Wooden Award All-American Team and Player of the Year Award, symbolic of the nation’s top collegiate players. The finalists were selected by the John R. Wooden Award Committee. The 27th annual Wooden Award Ceremony will be televised live from the Los Angeles Athletic Club on Saturday, April 12.

A panel of over 1,000 voters comprised of sports media members and college basketball experts will vote for the 10-member All-American team and Wooden Award. Ballots are due by March 31. The All-American will be announced on April 1 and the top five candidates will be invited to attend the awards ceremony in Los Angeles.

In addition to Thomas, the list of finalists includes: Mario Austin (Mississippi State), Troy Bell (Boston College), Steve Blake (Maryland), Matt Bonner (Florida), Nick Collison (Kansas), Brian Cook (Illinois), Chris Duhon (Duke), T.J. Ford (Texas), Reece Gaines (Louisville), Jason Gardner (Arizona), Kirk Hinrich (Kansas), Josh Howard (Wake Forest), Brandin Knight (Pittsburgh), Kyle Korver (Creighton), Emeka Okafor (Connecticut), Hollis Price (Oklahoma), Ron Slay (Tennessee), Mike Sweetney (Georgetown), Dwayne Wade (Marquette), Luke Walton (Arizona) and David West (Xavier).