Chris Stevens served on the Monogram Club Board of Directors from 2011-14.

Chris Stevens ('74, basketball) Receives Harvey G. Foster Award

June 22, 2015

For his distinguished work on behalf of the University of Notre Dame community and those in need, Chris Stevens (’74, basketball) was named the recipient of the 2015 Harvey G. Foster Award.

After holding leadership roles with Procter & Gamble and Anheuser-Busch, Stevens joined Keurig Inc. in 1996 and was one the original four team members who launched the Keurig Premium Coffee System, which is now the No. 1 coffee brewer in North America. Stevens oversaw the Keurig brand, sales, distribution and marketing strategies. He left Keurig in 2013 to take a position as an adjunct professor at the Mendoza College of Business.

In addition to his teaching duties, Stevens is the founder and CEO of CS 74 Ventures LLC, a holding company of various initiatives in which he has invested/owns with the commitment of donating at least 50 percent of the profits to charitable causes.

Stevens served on the Notre Dame Monogram Club Board of Directors from 2011-14. He also is a past board member of Massachusetts CRINC, the ALS Association of America and the Chicago Chamber of Commerce.

“On behalf of my family, thank you so much for this incredible honor. I tell my students that it is impossible to sprinkle some happiness on others and not get some on yourself,” Stevens said. “I certainly know there are many other alumni who richly deserve this honor, but I am a humbled but very happy man to receive this recognition.”

The Harvey G. Foster Award is just the latest teaching accolade for Stevens, who was a member of Digger Phelps’ 1974 squad that snapped UCLA’s historic 88-game win streak. Last May, he received the University’s Frank O’Malley Award. Named after the late Frank O’Malley (’32, ’33), the award is presented to a faculty member who exhibits the ideals of the former English professor by demonstrating a commitment to excellence in undergraduate teaching. Stevens also earned the Mendoza’s Blessed Basil Anthony Moreau, C.S.C. Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award.