Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Cheatham Highlights Academic All-ACC Team

GREENSBORO, N.C. — After earning All-American and All-ACC honors during the 2018-19 indoor season, Edward Cheatham can add another title to his resume — ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The University of Notre Dame prides itself on excellence, both on and off the field, and the track and field program continues to set the bar high as 11 total student-athletes, including Cheatham, were named to the Academic All-ACC Team as announced by the conference Thursday (May 2) for the second consecutive year. 

The senior from Manlius, New York, led his team to a national title in the men’s distance medley relay (DMR) as well as helped them record the second-best time in NCAA history with their run at the Alex Wilson Invitational (9:26.10), setting ACC, Notre Dame and Meyo Track records in the process. 

“He is a pleasure to work with,” assistant coach Wayne Pate (sprints) said of Cheatham. “What makes me so appreciative of Edward, besides the hard work he has put in to be successful, has been his approach to the specific training that we are doing. He comes to practice with the same attitude day in and day out, no matter the difficulty level of the workout.”

Named All-ACC for his participation in the DMR en route to the squad’s conference championship, Cheatham posted a 400m split time of 47.54 seconds securing their spot towards the top of the pack heading into the final two legs of the relay.

Off the track, Cheatham boasts a 3.407 career GPA as a political science major. Graduating with his bachelor’s degree in a few weeks, Cheatham plans to return to Notre Dame for graduate school. 

“He continues to keep an open mind to a new way of doing things and, literally, runs with it,” Pate added. “I can’t imagine him not being successful in anything he chooses to do.”

The other Irish honorees include six men in Colton Crum, Dylan Jacobs, Logan Kusky, Yared Nuguse, Samuel Voelz and Vincent Zona. The women’s side is represented by Grace Cronin, Rachel DaDamio, Mikayla Schneider and Rachel Tanczos.

2019 Women’s All-ACC Academic Team
Grace Cronin, Jr., Management Consulting
Rachel DaDamio, Sr., Applied Computational Mathematics & Statistics, Education, Schools & Society
Mikayla Schneider, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
Rachel Tanczos, So., Psychology

2019 Men’s All-ACC Academic Team
Men’s Scholar Athlete of the Year: Edward Cheatham
* Edward Cheatham, Sr., Political Science
Colton Crum, Fr., Undecided
Dylan Jacobs, Fr., Undecided
* Logan Kusky, Jr., Computer Engineering
* Yared Nuguse, So., Biochemistry
Samuel Voelz, So., Economics
Vincent Zona, So., ACMS

* indicates two-time indoor honoree