Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

CCHA Award Finalists Include Four from Hockey Program

March 19, 1999

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – Four members of the Notre Dame hockey program were among the finalists for the Central Collegiate Hockey Association major postseason awards, as announced Thursday night at the annual CCHA awards banquet in Detroit, Mich.

Three finalists were named for each of six awards, with Michigan State (five) ranking as the only team with more finalists than Notre Dame. Ohio State had three award finalists, followed by two from Michigan and one each from Bowling Green, Ferris State, Miami and Northern Michigan.

Notre Dame’s awards finalists included senior defenseman Benoit Cotnoir (best offensive defenseman), senior right wing Brian Urick (best defensive forward), junior defenseman Tyson Fraser (best defensive defenseman) and fourth-year head coach Dave Poulin (coach of the year).

Michigan State senior center Mike York was named CCHA player of the year and defensive forward of the year. Other player-of-the-year finalists were Ohio State junior center Hugo Boisvert and Miami sophomore center Jason Deskins. OSU senior center Chris Richards joined Urick as finalists for best defensive forward.

Michigan State junior Mike Weaver earned the best defensive defenseman award, with OSU sophomore Andre Signoretti joining Fraser as finalists for the award. Bowling Green junior defenseman Mike Jones earned the best defensive defenseman award, with Cotnoir and Michigan senior Bubba Berenzweig serving as the other finalists for that award.

MSU’s Ron Mason earned the CCHA coach-of-the-year award, with the finalists including Poulin and Ferris State’s Bob Daniels. Michigan center Mike Comrie was named the CCHA rookie of the year, edging out Michigan State right wing Adam Hall and Northern Michigan center Chad Theuer.