Senior left wing Calle Ridderwall is one of 20 candidates for the Lowe's senior CLASS award that is based on four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

Calle Ridderwall Selected As Candidate For Lowe's Senior Class Award

Oct. 14, 2010

Notre Dame, Ind. – Notre Dame senior alternate captain Calle Ridderwall (Stockholm, Sweden) has been selected as a candidate for the 2010-11 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in the men’s Division I hockey division.

Ridderwall joins 19 other Division I players who have combined excellence in athletics, academics and community service. The award is presented annually to an NCAA Division I student-athlete in 10 sports based on achievement’s in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. CLASS is an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School and the award focuses and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Selected as one of the team’s alternate captains prior to the season, Ridderwall goes into his final season at Notre Dame having played in 117 games with 41 goals and 25 assists for 66 career points. The talented left wing is the top returning scorer for the Irish as he had a career high 19 goals to go with eight assists for 27 points in the 2009-10 season. Over the past two years, Ridderwall has scored 36 goals with 22 of them coming on the power play. A year ago, he tied for fourth among CCHA goal scorers with 19 while his 11 power-play tallies led the conference.

Off the ice, Ridderwall has a 3.38 grade-point average in finance in the Mendoza College of Business.

The Stockholm, Sweden native has been involved in all aspects of the team’s community service efforts throughout his career. For three years, he has participated in the annual Buddy Walk for kids with Down’s Syndrome and the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation walk. For the past two years, Ridderwall and his teammates have worked with the South Bend Robinson Center, working with inner-city kids, teaching them how to play hockey. The program includes hockey drills at the center that teach the game via street hockey. The kids attend a game and get a chance to skate with the players during the season. The team also is involved with Habitat for Humanity and works in the local community. He also spends time with the Irish Youth Hockey League (IYHL), assisting with clinics and working with the younger kids in teaching them the finer points of the game of hockey.

This is the fifth year that Lowe’s has sponsored an award for hockey. In 2006-07, former Irish goaltender David Brown `07 won the Senior CLASS Award while in 2007-08, Mark Van Guilder `08 and in 2008-09, Jordan Pearce `09 and Erik Condra `09 were among the top 10 finalists. Team captain Ryan Thang `10 was the team’s nominee last season.

The Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award was launched in 2001 to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who fulfill their entire athletic eligibility and pursue the many rewards of a senior season and complete college education.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, expanded the Senior CLASS Award program in 2007 to include NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey in addition to men’s lacrosse, baseball, softball and men’s and women’s soccer. Football (Bowl Subdivision) was added in 2008 and volleyball in 2009, bringing the award program’s total of NCAA sports to nine.

The 2010-11 hockey candidates represent 19 different schools and five conferences. Five nominees represent the CCHA. Carter Camper of Miami, Carl Hagelin of Michigan, Bryant Molle of Alaska and Zach Redmond of Ferris State join Ridderwall on the list.

From the list of 20 nominees, a national media committee will select 10 finalists for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award midway through the season. Those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote that will include coaches, media and fans. The award winner will be announced and recognized at the 2011 NCAA Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minnesota.

“This year’s group of hockey candidates has really distinguished itself with its outstanding work in the classroom,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing.

“As these student-athletes close out their collegiate careers, they will no doubt be prepared for the next chapter in their lives whether it is further study or work in the public or private sector.”

For more information on all the candidates, visit

Lowe's Senior CLASS Award2010-11 Men's Hockey Nominees
Name School Pos. ConferenceJay Barriball Minnesota F Western Collegiate Hockey AssociationChris Barton Merrimack F Hockey East AssociationStephane Boileau Union College F ECAC Hockey LeagueCarter Camper Miami F Central Collegiate Hockey AssociationCory Conacher Canisius F Atlantic Hockey AssociationPaul Dainton Massachusetts G Hockey East AssociationJeff Dimmen Maine D Hockey East AssociationChay Genoway North Dakota D Western Collegiate Hockey AssociationCarl Hagelin Michigan F Central Collegiate Hockey AssociationTanner House Maine F Hockey East AssociationChris Kusneriuk Robert Morris F Atlantic Hockey AssociationJacques Lamoreaux Air Force F Atlantic Hockey AssociationBroc Little Yale F ECAC Hockey LeagueBryant Molle Alaska D Central Collegiate Hockey AssociationKyle Ostrow Denver F Western Collegiate Hockey AssociationChase Polacek Rensselaer F ECAC Hockey LeagueMatt Read Bemidji State D Western Collegiate Hockey AssociationZach Redmond Ferris State D Central Collegiate Hockey AssociationCalle Ridderwall Notre Dame F Central Collegiate Hockey AssociationEven Stephens Dartmouth D ECAC Hockey League