Burke HHA

Cal Burke Named 2019 Hockey Humanitarian Nominee

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Junior forward Cal Burke has been named one of 17 nominees for the 2019 Hockey Humanitarian Award. Currently Notre Dame’s leading scorer, Burke has excelled on the ice, in the classroom and in the community.

Prior to the start of the season, the Burke was voted an alternate captain by his teammates. As a business analytics major in the Mendoza College of Business, Burke now carries an impressive 3.427 cumulative GPA. The team’s 2018 Notre Dame Club of St. Joseph Valley Rockne Student-Athlete Award winner, Burke also earned Academic All-Big Ten honors following the 2017-18 season.

Burke serves as the team’s Student Athlete Advisory Council representative and leads the Irish in multiple service initiatives, including serving as the team’s point person for the team’s Fighting Irish Fight for Life program. Burke also serves on a mental health sub-group within the Student Athlete Advisory Council, which is working to reduce the stigma around mental health and help-seeking.

The Boxborough, Massachusetts, native leads the team with nine goals and 20 points. Burke scored his second career hat trick in the third period to lift Notre Dame to a 6-6 tie in the season opener versus Mercyhurst (Oct. 12) as he became the first Irish player with multiple career hat tricks since Anders Lee had two (Oct. 8, 2010 and Oct. 1, 2011). He had a career-high five-point game in Notre Dame’s 8-2 win at Omaha (Oct. 20) on two goals and a career-high three assists. One of his goals in that win over the Mavericks was his first career shorthanded tally. He also scored the overtime, game-winning goal against Northern Michigan to lift the Irish to a the 2-1 victory (Nov. 27).

The award is presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen — a student-athlete who makes significant contributions not only to his or her team but also to the community-at-large through leadership in volunteerism.

Finalists for the 2019 Hockey Humanitarian Award will be announced in February. The 2019 recipient will be honored in a ceremony on Friday, April 12th as part of the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four weekend in Buffalo, New York.

Burke and the Irish return to Compton Family Ice Arena this weekend (Jan. 11-12) for a pair of games against Big Ten foe Minnesota. Puck drop for both contests is set for 7 p.m. ET. For tickets, visit und.com/buytickets or call 833-ND-IRISH and keep up to date with all ticketing information by following @NDtix on Twitter.

The following are this year’s nominees:
Name                                      Cl.       Pos.     School                                     Hometown
Cam Beecy                              Sr.        D         Norwich University                Stowe, Vermont.
Devin Brosseau                       Jr.        F          Clarkson University                Saint-Lambert, Quebec
Jake Bunz                                Sr.        D         University of Wisconsin         Middleton, Wis.
Cal Burke                                Jr.        F          University of Notre Dame      Boxborough, Mass.
Stevie DeForge                       Sr.        F          Babson College                       Norwood, Mass.
Vincent Desharnais                 Sr.        D         Providence College                 Laval, Quebec
Ian Edmondson                       Sr.        D         Canisius College                     Toronto, Ontario
Jessie Eldridge                        Sr.        F          Colgate University                  Barrie, Ontario
Ryan Galt                                Sr.        F          Univ. of Nebraska Omaha      Omaha, Neb.
Nick Kossoff                          Sr.        G         Lake Superior State Univ.      West Des Moines, Iowa
Annie Pankowski                    Sr.        F          University of Wisconsin         Laguna Hills, Calif.
Tommy Parran                        Sr.        D         The Ohio State University      Shaker Heights, Ohio
Jacyn Reeves                           Sr.        F          The Ohio State University      Holmen, Wis.
Samantha Ridgewell               Sr.        G         Merrimack College                 Outlook, Saskatchewan
Luke Rivera *                         Sr.        F          SUNY Fredonia                      Pacific Palisades, Calif.
Josh Teves                               Sr.        D         Princeton University               Calgary, Alberta
James Varney                          Jr.        F          Stonehill College                    Smithfield, Maine
* Repeat Nominee
 — ND —