Mike Brey is one of three coaches in the history of the BIG EAST Conference to earn coach-of-the-year honors in back-to-back years.

Brey Named Finalist For Skip Prosser Man Of The Year Award

March 16, 2008

Notre Dame, Ind. – Irish head coach Mike Brey is one of 10 finalists for the inaugural Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award. The honor, which is named after the late Wake Forest head coach who died suddenly in July of 2007, is being presented by CollegeInsider.com in conjunction with the Prosser family at the 2008 Final Four in San Antonio.

The award will be presented annually to a Division I head coach who best represents the high standards of the coaching profession and winning with integrity.

In addition to Brey the finalists include: Rick Byrd (Belmont), Seth Greenberg (Virginia Tech), Frank Haith (Miami, Fla.), Trent Johnson (Stanford), Bob McKillop (Davidson), Sean Miller (Xavier), Matt Painter (Purdue), Bo Ryan (Wisconsin) and Gary Waters (Cleveland State).

Brey, the two-time BIG EAST Coach of the Year in both 2007 and 2008, led Notre Dame to a 24-7 record this season heading into the NCAA tournament. The Irish finished with a 14-4 mark in conference — it’s best-ever record since becoming a league member in 1995-96.