Brady Quinn, voted a team co-captain by his teammates this season, will lead the Irish into the 2005 season.

Brady Quinn Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

June 29, 2005

Junior quarterback Brady Quinn is one of 53 players on The 2005 Maxwell Award Watch List, announced by the Maxwell Football Club earlier this week.

Quinn threw for 2,586 yards last season, his second as the starting quarterback for Notre Dame. His sophomore season ended up as the best second-year campaign ever for an Irish quarterback, finishing second on the single-season passing list behind Jarious Jackson’s 2,753 yards in 1999. Quinn’s attempts (353) and completions (191) stand atop the single season list at Notre Dame and he accounted for 20 touchdowns (17 passing, three rushing) during the 2004 season.

Starting the last 21 consecutive games at quarterback for Notre Dame, Quinn has already posted the top freshman and sophomore quarterback statistical seasons in school history. He currently ranks fifth all-time on the Notre Dame passing list, just 403 yards behind Jackson in fourth place.

The Maxwell Award is presented each year to the college football player of the year by the Maxwell Football Club. The award is named after Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, a Philadelphia native and former All-American guard at Swarthmore and Chicago who went on to a career that included professional football, coaching and sportswriting. The award has been presented since 1937 and Jason White won the 68th annual award in 2004.

Notre Dame has seen four different players earn the Maxwell Award five times in the football program’s history. Tight end Leon Hart was the initial recipient in 1949, followed by HB John Lattner (twice in 1952 and ’53), LB Jim Lynch (1966) and Ross Browner (1977).