Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn was selected as the Cingular All-America Player of the Year.

Brady Quinn beats out Heisman favorite Smith for Maxwell

Dec. 7, 2006

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) -Brady Quinn took this round from Troy Smith.

The Notre Dame quarterback won the Maxwell Award as the player of the year Thursday night, beating out Ohio State’s Smith, the Heisman Trophy favorite.

Quinn, Smith and Arkansas running back Darren McFadden are the finalists for the Heisman, which will be handed out Saturday night in New York.

“Winning this award makes me look forward to Saturday night that much more,” Quinn said. “When you go back and look at it, the so-called rivalry between me and Troy pretty much began with last year’s Fiesta Bowl. Things just kind of went on from there. He and Darren (McFadden) have both had great seasons, and we’ve done pretty well for ourselves. We’ll just see what happens in New York.”

Smith won the Davey O’Brien Award as the nation’s best quarterback at the College Football Awards show and earlier in the day was honored as player of the year by the Walter Camp Foundation.

Quinn passed for 3,278 and 35 touchdowns this season, leading the Fighting Irish (10-2) to a Sugar Bowl bid. Notre Dame will face LSU on Jan. 3 in New Orleans.

He is the fifth Notre Dame player to win the Maxwell and first since defensive lineman Ross Browner in 1977.

Rutgers tailback Ray Rice was the other finalists for the Maxwell Award.

Previous Maxwell Award Winners from Notre Dame

1949     TE     Leon Hart1952     HB     John Lattner1953     HB     John Lattner1966     LB     Jim Lynch1977     DE     Ross Browner