Nov. 3, 2006

Five senior quarterbacks have been selected as finalists for the 2006 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, presented annually to the nation’s top senior collegiate quarterback by the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc.

The five finalists are: John Beck, BYU, Kevin Kolb, Houston, Brady Quinn, Notre Dame, Troy Smith, Ohio State and Drew Stanton, Michigan State. These five star quarterbacks were selected by a committee of football experts from across the United States.

The 2006 recipient will be announced December 1, 2006, with the award presentation to be made on December 8, 2006 at the Tremont Grand Meeting & Banquet Facility, in downtown Baltimore, Maryland. This prestigious award bears the name of who many refer to as the finest quarterback to ever play the game of football. Established in 1987, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award has previously honored 19 outstanding young men.

USC quarterback Matt Leinart won the award last year. Other past recipients include Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Rodney Peete (USC, 1988), Tony Rice (Notre Dame, 1989), Craig Erickson (Miami, Fla., 1990), Casey Weldon (Florida State, 1991), Gino Torretta (Miami, Fla., 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Jay Barker (Alabama, 1994), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska, 1995), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Cade McNown (UCLA, 1998), Chris Redman (Louisville, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), David Carr (Fresno State, 2001) Carson Palmer (USC, 2002), Eli Manning (Ole Miss, 2003) and Jason White (University of Oklahoma, 2004).

In addition to honoring a player with the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc., has awarded more than $500,000 in scholarships to deserving scholar athletes from local area high schools both in Maryland and Kentucky.