Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Book Selected As O'Brien Award Semifinalist

NOTRE DAME, Indiana — Notre Dame graduate student quarterback Ian Book has been named a semifinalist for the 2020 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. Book is one of 17 FBS quarterbacks to be tabbed as a semifinalist, and the Notre Dame team captain marks his second time being selected as a semifinalist for the award (also in 2018). 

Book has led the Irish to a perfect 10-0 record in 2020, becoming the all-time winningest quarterback in Notre Dame history. He boasts a 30-3 (.909) record as a starter, and Book is one of just two FBS quarterbacks with a win rate above .900. He has completed 181 passes for 2,382 yards and 15 touchdowns, with just two interceptions, in 2020, and has rushed for 465 yards and eight touchdowns on the season.

Book, a rare two-time team captain, capped the longest streak of passing attempts without an interception in program history at 266 (beginning mid-Game One vs. Duke and ending mid-Game 10 vs. Syracuse), which was the longest-active streak in the FBS. With eight rushing TDs in 2020, he ranks third among all Power 5 quarterbacks in season rushing touchdowns.

The graduate student has garnered a number of national accolades this season. He has been named to the Davey O’Brien Great 8 list four times and was recently selected to the Top 10 for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Book also earned ACC Quarterback of the Week following the Pitt game and Manning Award Star of the week following the Boston College game. Additionally, he was also selected as a candidate for the Senior CLASS Award. 

Three finalists will be selected based on a national committee and a fan vote, which is now open and will close on Dec. 20. Fans may vote on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook on the Davey O’Brien official accounts. Book ranked in the Top Five in fan voting for the semifinalist round on Twitter and Instagram. National selection committee voting will take place from Dec. 16-20. 

The three finalists will be named on Tuesday, Dec. 22. The winner is to be announced live on Thursday, Jan. 7, 2021, on the 30th annual The Home Depot College Football Awards, which will be held virtually from 7-8:30 p.m. (ET) on ESPN.