TJ Jones

Bennett Jackson, TJ Jones and Zack Martin Named Captains

Aug 23, 2013

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Senior cornerback Bennett Jackson, senior wide receiver TJ Jones and graduate student offensive tackle Zack Martin have been named captains for the 2013 Notre Dame football team.

Martin and Jones will captain the offense, while Jackson was selected as the defensive captain.

Martin (Indianapolis, Ind./Bishop Chatard) becomes the 18th two-time captain in Irish football history and first since Maurice Crum, Jr. in 2007-08. He has started all 39 games for Notre Dame at left tackle over the last three seasons. A second-team All-American in 2012 and three-time Irish offensive lineman of the year, Martin could set a school record for career starts with 13 more this season. He was named to the Outland Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award watch list earlier this summer.

Jones (Roswell, Ga./Gainesville) is a Biletnikoff Award watch list nominee for the third straight season. In 2012, he tied for team-high honors in both receptions and receiving touchdowns, and also ranked second in receiving yards. Jones caught 50 passes for 649 yards and registered four touchdowns last year. He collected a career-high seven receptions for 90 yards vs. Alabama in the ’13 BCS National Championship Game. Jones added touchdown grabs against Purdue, Boston College, Wake Forest and Stanford. The TD catch against the Cardinal proved to the difference in the Irish overtime victory.

Jackson (Hazlet, N.J./Raritan), a 2013 Bednarik Award watch list selection, started all 13 games at cornerback in 2012. He ranked third on the Irish with 65 tackles, trailing only Manti Te’o and Zeke Motta. Jackson recorded 45 solo stops and collected four interceptions in his first year as a starting cornerback. He tied for 39th in the FBS in interceptions (0.31/game). Jackson, who played wide receiver in high school before moving to cornerback in 2011, led an Irish pass defense in ’12 that ranked second in the country in fewest passing yards/completion (9.95) and tied for sixth in the nation in fewest passing touchdowns (10).

Number of players who have been named football captains at Notre Dame: 196 with the addition of Zack Martin, TJ Jones and Bennett Jackson

Two-time captains: Edward Prudhomme (1888-89); Frank Keough (1893-94); Louis “Red” Salmon (1902-03); Leonard Bahan (1918-19); Pat Filley (1943-44); Bob Olson (1968-69); Willie Fry (1976-77); Bob Crable (1980-81); Phil Carter (1981-82); Ned Bolcar (1988-89); Ryan Leahy (1994-95); Ron Powlus (1996-97); Grant Irons (2000-01); Brady Quinn (2005-06); Tom Zbikowski (2006-07); Travis Thomas (2006-07); Maurice Crum, Jr. (2007-08); Zack Martin (2012-13)

1887: Henry Luhn
1888: Edward Prudhomme
1889: Edward Prudhomme
1892: Pat Coady
1893: Frank Keough
1894: Frank Keough
1895: Dan Casey
1896: Frank E. Hering
1897: Jack Mullen
1898: Jack Mullen
1899: Jack Mullen
1900: John Farley
1901: Al Fortin
1902: Louis (Red) Salmon
1903: Louis (Red) Salmon
1904: Frank Shaughnessy
1905: Pat Beacom
1906: Bob Bracken
1907: Dom Callicrate
1908: Harry Miller
1909: Howard Edwards
1910: Ralph Dimmick
1911: Luke Kelly
1912: Charles (Gus) Dorais
1913: Knute Rockne
1914: Keith Jones
1915: Freeman Fitzgerald
1916: Stan Cofall
1917: Jim Phelan
1918: Leonard Bahan
1919: Leonard Bahan
1920: Frank Coughlin
1921: Eddie Anderson
1922: Glen Carberry
1923: Harvey Brown
1924: Adam Walsh
1925: Clem Crowe
1926: Gene Edwards, Tom Hearden
1927: John Smith
1928: Fred Miller
1929: John Law
1930: Tom Conley
1931: Tommy Yar
1932: Paul Host
1933: Hugh Devore, Tom Gorman
1934: Dom Vairo
1935: Joe Sullivan
1936: Bill Smith, John Lautar
1937: Joe Zwers
1938: Jim McGoldrick
1939: Johnny Kelly
1940: Milt Piepul
1941: Paul Lillis
1942: George Murphy
1943: Pat Filley
1944: Pat Filley
1945: Frank Dancewicz
1947: George Connor
1948: Bill Fischer
1949: Leon Hart, Jim Martin
1950: Jerry Groom
1951: Jim Mutscheller
1952: Jack Alessandrini
1953: Don Penza
1954: Paul Matz, Dan Shannon
1955: Ray Lemek
1956: Jim Morse
1957: Dick Prendergast, Ed Sullivan
1958: Al Ecuyer, Chuck Puntillo
1959: Ken Adamson
1960: Myron Pottios
1961: Norb Roy, Nick Buoniconti
1962: Mike Lind
1963: Bob Lehmann
1964: Jim Carroll
1965: Phil Sheridan
1966: Jim Lynch
1967: Bob (Rocky) Bleier
1968: George Kunz, Bob Olson
1969: Bob Olson, Mike Oriard
1970: Larry DiNardo, Tim Kelly
1971: Walt Patulski, Tom Gatewood
1972: John Dampeer, Greg Marx
1973: Dave Casper, Frank Pomerico, Mike Townsend
1974: Tom Clements, Greg Collins
1975: Ed Bauer, Jim Stock
1976: Mark McLane, Willie Fry
1977: Ross Browner, Terry Eurick, Willie Fry, Steve Orsini
1978: Bob Golic, Jerome Heavens, Joe Montana
1979: Vagas Ferguson, Tim Foley, Dave Waymer
1980: Bob Crable, Tom Gibbons, John Scully
1981: Bob Crable, Phil Carter
1982: Phil Carter, Dave Duerson, Mark Zavagnin
1983: Blair Kiel, Stacey Toran
1984: Mike Golic, Joe Johnson, Larry Williams
1985: Tony Furjanic, Mike Larkin, Allen Pinkett, Tim Scannell
1986: Mike Kovaleski
1987: Chuck Lanza, Byron Spruell
1988: Ned Bolcar, Mark Green, Andy Heck
1989: Ned Bolcar, Anthony Johnson, Tony Rice
1990: Mike Heldt, Todd Lyght, Ricky Watters, Chris Zorich
1991: Rodney Culver
1992: Demetrius DuBose, Rick Mirer
1993: Jeff Burris, Tim Ruddy, Aaron Taylor, Bryant Young
1994: Lee Becton, Justin Goheen, Brian Hamilton, Ryan Leahy
1995: Paul Grasmanis, Ryan Leahy, Derrick Mayes, Shawn Wooden, Dusty Zeigler
1996: Lyron Cobbins, Marc Edwards, Ron Powlus
1997: Melvin Dansby, Ron Powlus, Allen Rossum
1998: Bobbie Howard, Kory Minor, Mike Rosenthal
1999: Jarious Jackson
2000: Anthony Denman, Jabari Holloway, Grant Irons, Dan O’Leary
2001: Rocky Boiman, David Givens, Grant Irons, Anthony Weaver
2002: Arnaz Battle, Sean Mahan, Gerome Sapp, Shane Walton
2003: Darrell Campbell, Vontez Duff, Omar Jenkins, Jim Molinaro
2004: Mike Goolsby, Ryan Grant, Carlyle Holiday, Justin Tuck
2005: Brady Quinn, Brandon Hoyte
2006: Brady Quinn, Tom Zbikowski, Travis Thomas
2007: Tom Zbikowski, Travis Thomas, John Carlson, John Sullivan, Maurice Crum Jr.
2008: David Bruton, Maurice Crum Jr., David Grimes
2009: Jimmy Clausen, Kyle McCarthy, Eric Olsen, Scott Smith
2010: Game-by-Game
2011: Harrison Smith
2012: Manti Te’o, Kapron Lewis-Moore, Zack Martin, Tyler Eifert
2013: Zack Martin, TJ Jones, Bennett Jackson