Senior Ben Hansbrough adds the USBWA All-District V first team selection to a rapidly growing list of awards.

Ben Hansbrough Named To USBWA All-District V Team

March 10, 2011

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Ben Hansbrough (Poplar Bluff, Mo.), a senior guard on the Notre Dame men’s basketball team, has been selected to the 2011 U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District V first team.

The USBWA all-district teams are based on voting by writers who have national membership within the organization. All told there are nine regions ranging from coast-to-coast that select all-district teams as well as a coach and player of the year within each region.

Hansbrough ended the season leading the team in scoring with a career-best average of 18.5 points per game, in addition to averaging 3.8 rebounds and 4.2 assists. In BIG EAST play, he finished as the Conference’s third-leading scorer at 20.7 points per game and also grabbed 4.1 rebounds and dished off 4.3 assists in 18 league outings.

On 18 occasions the senior led the Irish in scoring, reaching double figures in all but two contests, topping the 30-point mark on two occasions and netting 20-plus point 14 times.

The honor adds to a fast growing list of accolades for Hansbrough, who earlier this week was named to the NABC All-District V team as well as being named the BIG EAST Conference Player of the Year on Tuesday.

Several in-season recognitions included earning Conference Player of the Week (Jan. 10) and being chosen to the BIG EAST Weekly Honor Roll on six occasions also were bestowed upon Hansbrough. He also was named a member of the Naismith Trophy Midseason 30.

Joining Hansbrough on the USBWA All-District V first team are Norris Cole (Cleveland State), Tu Holloway (Xavier), Matt Howard (Butler), JaJuan Johnson (Purdue), Jon Leuer (Wisconsin), Kalin Lucas (Michigan State), Demetri McCamey (Illinois), E’Twaun Moore (Purdue), Jared Sullinger (Ohio State) and Jordan Taylor (Wisconsin). Purdue’s Matt Painter and JaJuan Johnson were selected as the District V coach and player of the year, respectively.