Ben Hansbrough was named NABC All-District V First Team one day after being chosen the BIG EAST Conference Player of the Year.

Ben Hansbrough Named To NABC All-District Team

March 9, 2011

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Ben Hansbrough (Poplar Bluff, Mo.), a senior guard on the Notre Dame men’s basketball team, has been selected to the 2011 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District V first team.

The all-district teams recognize the nation’s best men’s collegiate basketball players. The 245 student-athletes, from 24 districts, are now eligible for the State Farm Coaches’ Division I All-America teams to be announced on Saturday, April 2, at 9:30 a.m. (EDT) at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Houston during the NABC Convention and NCAA Final Four.

Hansbrough ended the season leading the team in scoring with a career-best average of 18.5 points per game, in addition to averaging 3.8 rebounds and 4.2 assists. In BIG EAST play, he finished as the Conference’s third-leading scorer at 20.7 points per game and also grabbed 4.1 rebounds and dished off 4.3 assists in 18 league outings.

On 18 occasions the senior led the Irish in scoring, reaching double figures in all but two contests, topping the 30-point mark on two occasions and netting 20-plus point 14 times.

Hansbrough was selected as the BIG EAST Conference Player of the Year on Tuesday, including being named Conference Player of the Week (Jan. 10) and being chosen to the BIG EAST Weekly Honor Roll on six occasions over the course of the season. He also was named a member of the Naismith Trophy Midseason 30.

Joining Hansbrough on the NABC All-District V first team are fellow BIG EAST Conference players Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Austin Freeman (Georgetown), Marshon Brooks (Providence) and Ashton Gibbs (Pittsburgh).