Notre Dame has had a player earn USBWA All-America

Ben Hansbrough Named Second Team All-American By USBWA

March 15, 2011

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Ben Hansbrough (Poplar Bluff, Mo.), who just a week ago was named the 2011 BIG EAST Player of the Year and was a unanimous first team all-BIG EAST selection, was among 10 players selected to the 2010-11 U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-America Team. Hansbrough was one of five players named to the second team.

In addition be being honored as a USBWA All-American, Hansbrough was one of 20 players on the final ballot for the 2011 John R. Wooden Award, presented by the The Los Angeles Athletic Club. The five players selected to the USBWA first team were Jimmer Fredette (BYU), JaJuan Johnson (Purdue), Nolan Smith (Duke), Jared Sullinger (Ohio State) and Kemba Walker (Connecticut).

Joining Hansbrough on the second team were Kenneth Faried (Morehead State), Jordan Hamilton (Texas), Marcus Morris (Kansas) and Derrick Williams (Arizona). This marks the third straight year that Notre Dame has had a player selected to one of the two USBWA All-America teams. The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

The 19 other finalists on the Wooden Award Ballot include BIG EAST counterparts Marshon Brooks (Providence), Dwight Hardy (St. John’s) and Kemba Walker (Connecticut), in addition to Alec Burks (Colorado), Norris Cole (Cleveland State), Kenneth Faried (Morehead State), Jimmer Fredette (Brigham Young), Jordan Hamilton (Texas), JaJuan Johnson (Purdue), Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State), Jon Leuer (Wisconsin), E’Twaun Moore (Purdue), Marcus Norris (Kansas), Jacob Pullen (Kansas State), Kyle Singler (Duke), Nolan Smith (Duke), Jared Sullinger (Ohio State), Jordan Taylor (Wisconsin) and Derrick Williams (Arizona).

The 35th annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the men’s and women’s Wooden Award winners, a tribute to Coach Wooden and Wooden Award Founder, Duke Llewellyn, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Team trophies and the Legends of Coaching Award to Michigan State Head Coach Tom Izzo, will take place April 8, 2011 at The Los Angeles Athletic Club.