Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Ashlee Warren Becomes First Notre Dame Rower To Earn All-America Honors

July 31, 2002

Notre Dame, Ind. – Junior rower Ashlee Warren was named a 2002 second-team All-American by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association announced Tuesday. Warren becomes the first Notre Dame rower in the four-year history of the program to earn All-America distinction.

From Gibsonburg, Ohio, Warren was the leader of the Irish varsity eight in 2002, which qualified for its first NCAA Rowing Championship in school history. The Irish finished 16th at the NCAAs and finished the year ranked 13th overall, the highest final ranking in the history of the program. Warren also helped the Irish achieve their first-ever top-ten national ranking at ninth after placing fifth at the San Diego Crew Classic.

Warren, the best port erger on the team, received first-team all-Central Region honors for the second time in her career in 2002. She also became one of the first two Notre Dame rowers, along with Becky Luckett, to earn US Rowing Collegiate Honor Roll accolades in 2001. Warren was also a member of the CRCA National Scholar-Athlete team in 2001.

Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association 2002 All-America Teams

First Team
Rosemary Branson-Gill – Brown
Krista Buzzell – Michigan State
Megan Cooke – California
Madeline Engel – Virginia
Aimee Fox – Clemson
Joanna Hingle – Duke
Heidi Hurn – Washington
Sarah-Jana Irwin – Pennsylvania
Connie Kirsch – Ohio State
Sabrina Kolker – Stanford
Katie Lakin – Duke
Jessica Lanning – Brown
Tamara McBratney – Michigan
Melissa Merritt – Yale
Christina Meyer – Michigan
Anna Mickelson – Washington
Lia Pernell – Princeton
Katie Phillips – Princeton
Jennifer Reck – Virginia
Kate Wetmore – Yale
Mary Whipple – Washington (coxswain)

Second Team
Ivelina Boteva – Southern California
Ashley Brzozowicz – Yale
Lucy Doolittle – Clemson
Elizabeth Dyks – Northeastern
Karla Fiserova – Ohio State
Anne Gibbon – U.S. Naval Academy
Katrin Gleic – Southern California
Joy Jordan – Oregon State
Julie Keedy – Texas
Corrie McGrath – Washington State
Kristin Mauks – Pennsylvania
Rachel Miller – Michigan State
Lauren Mitterer – Virginia
Sarah Pollman – Massachusetts
Melissa Roche – Minnesota
Nicole Sylvester – Cornell
Ashlee Warren – Notre Dame
Stacie Wozniuk – Northeastern
Maeva Schulz – Boston (coxswain)