Anthony Fasano catches the 'pass right' play from Brady Quinn and heads up field on Notre Dame's first offensive play from scrimmage against Washington in 2005.

Anthony Fasano Named Mackey Award Finalist

Nov. 23, 2005

The Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC) has announced its three finalists for the 2005 John Mackey Award. Vernon Davis of Maryland, Anthony Fasano of Notre Dame and Marcedes Lewis of UCLA are the final three candidates for “The Mackey”.

The three finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The 2005 recipient of “The Mackey” will be announced the week of December 5, 2005 and presented at the annual awards dinner on May 1, 2006.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of NFL Hall of Fame Tight End John Mackey. The Nassau County Sports Commission, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization created to enhance quality of life in “America’s First Playground” through sports, is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

For additional information, please visit or

For more information on Anthony Fasano, Click here.