Anders Lee carries the Mason Cup following the Irish win over Michigan.  The junior center was named a second team CCM Hockey All-American on Friday at the Frozen Four.

Anders Lee Named Second Team CCM Hockey Division I All-American

April 12, 2013

Pittsburgh, Pa. – Notre Dame junior center Anders Lee (Edina, Minn.) has been named a second team selection to the CCH Hockey Division I West All-American team for his play during the 2012-13 season. The announcement was made Friday evening at the Frozen Four. The CCM Hockey All-American teams are sponsored by CCM Hockey and are selected by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA).

Lee becomes the 12th Irish hockey all-American in the 45-year history of the Notre Dame hockey program and the first since defenseman Ian Cole and right wing Erik Condra `09 were first and second team selections respectively following the 2008-09 campaign.

The honor caps an outstanding junior season for Lee who served as team captain for the Irish in `12-’13. In 41 games this season, he led Notre Dame in scoring while helping the team to a 25-13-3 overall record, a second-place regular season finish in the CCHA and the final CCHA Mason Cup championship. His 20 goals and 18 assists for 38 points led the Irish in goals and points and tied him for first (goals) and third (points) among CCHA players. Among his goals were four power-play tallies, a short-handed goal and two game winners. He was +18 for the season.

Lee was a first team all-CCHA selection and joins teammate T.J. Tynan (Jr., Orland Park, Ill.) as the only two-time all-CCHA choices in the program’s history. The former Green Bay Gambler led the Irish in goals in all three of his seasons to become just the third Irish player ever to do that (joining Rob Globke `04 and Aniket Dhadphale `99) and was the first Notre Dame skater to have two or more 20-goal seasons since Lou Zadra `92 had back-to-back 24-goal campaigns in 1990-91 and 1991-92.

The Edina, Minn., native was named the Notre Dame Monogram Club’s team most valuable player and the Irish offensive player of the year. He also was a finalist for CCHA player of the year honors and the CCHA top defensive forward award. A two-time CCHA Postgame player of the week, he also was the CCHA Warrior player of the month for November.

By winning the CCHA tournament championship, the Irish returned to the NCAA tournament as the top seed in the Midwest Regional in Toledo, Ohio. There, they dropped a 5-1 decision to Saint Cloud State in the first semifinal game.

Following the season-ending loss, Lee signed with the New York Islanders, the team that drafted him in the sixth round of the 2009 NHL Entry Draft, on April 1. In his first career game on April 2, Lee scored on his first career shot in a 5-2 win over Winnipeg. He has played two games in an Islander uniform and has a goal and an assist for two points.

Lee joins 10 other former Notre Dame players to take All-American honors. The list includes:

Eddie Bumbacco (1973), Bill Nyrop (1973), Jack Brownschidle (1976, 1977), Brian Walsh (1977), Greg Meredith (1980), Kirt Bjork (1983), Benoit Cotnoir (1999), David Brown (2007) and Cole and Condra in 2009.

This year’s CCM Hockey All-American teams feature 25 players from 20 different Division I hockey-playing schools. Leading the way with three players selected is St. Lawrence University (one first team and two second team) with Boston College, Saint Cloud State and North Dakota having two players each and 16 schools having one player each.

Ten of the players honored are seniors while eight are juniors, five are sophomores and two are freshmen. The ECAC and the WCHA each had seven players selected all-American while Hockey East had six and the CCHA had five. The team is made up of 22 players from the United States, two from Canada and one from Finland.

The 2012-13 CCM Hockey Division I All-American Teams
First TeamEast West
Eric Hartzell, Sr., Quinnipiac G Brady Hjelle, Sr., Ohio State(White Bear Lake, Minn.) (International Falls, Minn.)Nick Bailen, Sr., Rensselaer # D Nick Jensen, Jr., Saint Cloud State(Fredonia, N.Y.) (Rogers, Minn.)Chad Ruhwedel, Jr., UMass.-Lowell D Jacob Trouba, Fr., Michigan(San Diego, Calif.) (Rochester, Mich.)Trevor van Riemsdyk, So. UNH D(Middletown, N.J.)Kyle Flanagan, Sr., St. Lawrence F Austin Czarnik, So., Miami(Canton, N.Y.) (Washington, Mich.)Johnny Gaudreau, So., Boston College F Danny Kristo, Sr., North Dakota(Carneys Point, N.J.) (Eden Prairie, Minn.)Steven Whitney, Sr., Boston College F Drew LeBlanc, Sr., Saint Cloud State(Reading, Mass.) (Hermantown, Minn.)
Second TeamEast WestJon Gillies, Fr., Providence G Juho Olkinuora, So., Denver(South Portland, Me.) (Helsinki, Finland)Shayne Gostisbehere, So., Union D Dan DeKeyser, Jr., Western Michigan *(Margate, Fla.) (Clay Township, Mich.)George Hughes, Sr., St. Lawrence D Nate Schmidet, Jr., Minnesota(Westwood, Mass.) (St. Cloud, Minn.)Greg Carey, Jr., St. Lawrence F Corban Knight, Sr., North Dakota(Hamilton, Ont.) (High River, Alta.)Mike Collins, Jr., Merrimack F Anders Lee, Jr., Notre Dame(Boston, Mass.) (Edina, Minn.)Andrew Miller, Sr., Yale F Ryan Walters, Jr., Nebraska-Omaha(Bloomfield Hills, Mich.) (Rosemount, Minn.)
* Second team in 2011-12; # Second team in 2010-11