Sept. 21, 2006

The All-American Football Foundation will honor seven individuals with ties to the University of Notre Dame at its 80th Banquet of Champions on Sept. 28, at the Chicago Athletic Club. The event will be dedicated to Notre Dame’s president emeritus, Rev. Edward A. Malloy, C.S.C., and the University’s director of athletics, Kevin White, along with the late Randy Walker, the Northwestern football coach who died sudddenly on June 29 at the age of 52. Father Malloy, president from 1987-2005, will receive the foundation’s Outstanding College President Award. White, who was appointed athletics director in 2000, and Northwestern’s Mark Murphy are co-recipients of the General Robert R. Neyland Outstanding Athletic Director Award.

Other honorees from Notre Dame include:

• Joe Russo, Notre Dame’s longtime director of financial aid and now director of student financial strategies, and Dan Saracino, assistant provost for enrollment. Each will receive the AAFF’s Contribution to Football Award.

•Rick Chryst (’83), a former Notre Dame baseball player and now commissioner of the Mid-American Conference, is the Asa S. Bushnell Outstanding Commissioner Award winner.

•Retired U.S. Army Sgt. George Dickson, a World War II veteran, 1950 graduate and former football player and assistant coach for the Irish, will receive the Admiral Thomas J. Hamilton Award – in recognition of his military service.

•Frank Reynolds (’59), a Chicago attorney who earned three monograms as a halfback for Notre Dame (in addition to currently serving on the Notre Dame Monogram Club board of directors), is the Bill Wade Unsung Hero Award winner.

Reservations for the dinner can be made by calling (601) 206-8877.

Founded in 1994, the All-American Football Foundation is a nonprofit organization that annually awards 11 Colonel Red Blaik Scholarships and selects football All-America teams. Former Notre Dame linebacker Brandon Hoyte was honored with one of the 2005 Blaik Leadership Scholarships.