A.J. Pollock.

A.J. Pollock Named Cape Cod League MVP

Aug. 8, 2008

BOURNE, Ma. – – Notre Dame rising junior and Falmouth Commodore outfielder A.J. Pollock was named Cape Cod League Pat Sorenti Most Valuable Player Thursday. Pollock, just the second player ever from the BIG EAST Conference to capture the award, joins a list that includes current MLB players Evan Longoria, Mike Fontenot, Carlos Pena, Darin Erstad and Jason Varitek.

Pollock (Hebron, Conn.) ranks in the top five of the league in just about every offensive category. He is first in hits (61), first in doubles (15), first in slugging percentage (.556), second in batting average (.377), second in extra-base hits (20), third in runs scored (35), tied for third in triples (2) and fourth in on-base percentage (.455).

Pollock has played in 40 games for Falmouth and leads the team in at-bats (162), runs, hits, doubles, total bases (90), extra-base hits, slugging percentage, on-base percentage and stolen bases (11). He also ranks second in batting average (.377), home runs (4) and RBI (25). Pollock has committed just one error while patrolling centerfield.

Pollock is the second Notre Dame player to ever capture Cape Cod League MVP. Dick Licini captured the award in 1968 as a first baseman for the Bourne Braves. Pollock is also the second player ever from the BIG EAST Conference to be awarded MVP. John Morris of Seton Hall earned the honor in 1981.

With just one regular season remaining, Falmouth (23-20-1) needs a victory over Bourne (23-20-1) to secure the fourth and final playoff spot. Orleans (25-17-2), Harwich (24-20-0) and Cotuit (24-18-2) have already qualified.

Pat Sorenti Award Most Valuable Player Award

Year  Player  Position   Team School  Drafted By2008   A.J. Pollock OF  Falmouth Notre Dame  --2007    Conor Gillaspie 3B    Falmouth Wichita St    San Francisco2006    Justin Smoak    1B    Cotuit     South Carolina   Texas2005    Evan Longoria   IF    Chatham  Long Beach St.  Tampa Bay2004    Daniel Carte      OF     Falmouth Winthrop      Colorado2003    J.C. Holt     OF     Brewster LSU      Atlanta2002    Pete Stonard    OF    Cotuit     Alabama    San Diego2001    Matt Murton   OF     Wareham  Georgia Tech    Boston2000    Mike Fontenot   2B    Wareham  LSU      Baltimore1999    Lance Niekro    3B    Orleans  Florida Southern    San Francisco1998    Bobby Kielty    OF    Brewster Mississippi   Minnesota1997    Carlos Pena   1B     Wareham  Northeastern    Texas1996    Kevin Nicholson SS    Wareham  Stetson   San Diego1995    Josh Paul     OF     Cotuit     Vanderbilt     Chicago (AL)1994    Darin Erstad      OF     Falmouth Nebraska      California1993    Jason Varitek   C     Hyannis  Georgia Tech    Seattle1992    Rick Ellstrom   3B    Cotuit     Miami         San Diego1991    Brent Killen      1B     Y-D    Florida    Detroit1990    Mark Smith    OF   Wareham USC      Baltimore1989    Kurt Olson    1B     Y-D    Indiana    Philadelphia1988    David Staton    1B    Brewster Orange Coast CC San Diego1987    Mick Morandini  SS    Y-D    Indiana    Philadelphia1986    Scott Hemond    OF/C      Harwich  South Florida   Oakland1985    Greg Vaughn OF    Cotuit     Sacramento CC    Milwaukee1984    Joey Cora     2B     Chatham  Vanderbilt    San Diego1983    Greg Lotzar   OF     Cotuit     Central Michigan Boston1982    Terry Steinbach 1B    Cotuit     Minnesota      Oakland1981    John Morris   OF     Wareham  Seton Hall    Kansas City1980    Ron Darling   OF/P   Cotuit   Yale    Texas1979    Ronnie Perry    3B    Hyannis  Holy Cross    Chicago (AL)1978    Bill Schroeder  C     Hyannis  Clemson   Milwaukee1977    Steve Balboni   1B    Y-D    Eckerd     NY (AL)1976    Nat Showalter   OF    Hyannis  Mississippi State   NY (AL)1975    Paul O'Neill      3B     Cotuit     Boston College   San Diego1974    Phil Welch    P      Wareham  Providence    Boston1973    Steve Newell    OF    Wareham  UMass        Montreal1972    Brad Linden   1B     Orleans  UConn1971    Joe Barkauskas  C     Wareham  Lafayette     NY (AL)1970    Jim Prete     2B     Wareham  UNM Highlands   Washington1969    Jim Norris    OF     Orleans  Maryland      Cleveland1968    Dick Licini   1B     Bourne   Notre Dame    Boston1967    Thurman Munson  C     Chatham  Kent State    NY (AL)1966    Ed Drucker    1B     Harwich  Southern Conn.1965    Ron Bugbee    3B     Sagamore UConn1964    Ken Huebner OF/P      Cotuit     Florida Southern Philadelphia

— ND —