Jerian Grant become the first Notre Dame guard to earn first team All-America honors since Austin Carr in 1971.

A Big Awards Day For Jerian Grant

March 30, 2015

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – University of Notre Dame guard Jerian Grant, who helped engineer one of the greatest seasons in the 110-year history of the Fighting Irish men’s basketball program in 2014-15, solidified his place on Monday as one of the nation’s top players.

Grant was named a first team All-American by the Associated Press and the National Basketball Coaches Association, becoming the first Irish player since Troy Murphy in 2000-01 to earn first-team accolades from both of those organizations. In addition, he also earned a spot on the John R. Wooden All-America squad and is one of five finalists for the Wooden Award as the national player of the year. Notre Dame’s last Wooden honoree was Luke Harangody in 2008-09.

Grant also becomes the first Notre Dame guard to garner first-team All-America honors since Austin Carr in 1971. Carr, who played for the Irish from 1968-71, still remains the school’s all-time career leader with 2,560 points.

Grant is the only player in Notre Dame history to score more than 1,700 points, dish off 600 assists, make 150 steals and block 30 shots.

He also earned first team All-America honors from the United States Basketball Writers Association and was a second-team All-America selection by Sporting News.

Jerian Grant is so deserving of every honor that has come his way this season,” 15-year Irish head coach Mike Brey says. “He is one of the most remarkable comeback stories in college basketball. Jerian played with a fearlessness and a determination all season long. He and Pat Connaughton were our leaders and the catalysts behind the historic season that we had. Certainly, Jerian and Pat will go down as two of the best players in the history of our program.”

The Most Valuable Player of the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament after leading the Irish to the ACC crown in just Notre Dame’s second season as a member of the ACC, Grant averaged a team-leading 16.5 points in his final campaign in an Irish uniform and also led the squad in assists (253) and steals (63). A unanimous first-team all-ACC selection, the 6-5, 203-pound native of Bowie, Maryland guided Notre Dame to the second 30-win season in school history as the Irish finished with a 32-6 record and 14-4 mark in ACC play en route to a third-place finish in the final regular-season.

Grant led a Notre Dame team into the Elite Eight of the 2015 NCAA Championship. The Irish advanced to the Midwest Regional final before falling to No. 1 and top-ranked Kentucky, 68-66, on Saturday night at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio.

Grant had one of the most prolific seasons in Notre Dame history as he finished with 628 points, 253 assists and 53 steals. He was one of just two Division I players this season (the other was Jalan West of Northwestern State) to score more than 600 points, dish off 200 assists and make 61 steals, was one of two players (the other was Jalen West of Northwestern State) with 600 points, 200 steals and 50 steals. He is just one of seven players in ACC history to record those milestones.

A two-time ACC player-of-the-week honoree and one of two unanimous selections to the all-ACC first team, Grant averaged 16.4 points, 6.9 assists and 2.1 steals during the 18-game conference season. He led the Irish in scoring on 16 occasions, netted double figures in 34 contests, scored 20-plus points 11 times, dished off 10-plus assists in six games and registered five double-doubles.

Grant played in 119 contests during his career and made 117 starts while scoring 1,739 points (11th all-time at Notre Dame) for a 14.6 career scoring average, 690 assists (third all-time) and 175 steals (fifth all-time). He posted 99 double-figure scoring efforts throughout his career, registered 20-plus points 25 times, dished off 10-plus assists in 10 career outings and finished with nine career double-doubles.

Joining Grant on the AP and NABC All-America first teams were Frank Kaminsky of Wisconsin, Jahill Okafor of Duke, Willie Cauley-Stein of Kentucky and D’Angelo Russell of Ohio State. Grant and those four are also among the finalists for the Wooden Award. Also named to the Wooden Award All-America Team were Ron Baker (Wichita State), Malcolm Brogdon (Virginia), Seth Tuttle (Northern Iowa), Kyle Wiltjer (Gonzaga) and Delon Wright (Utah).

Grant will be honored at The Wooden Award ceremony on Friday, April 10, The announcement will be televised live on ESPN2 from Club Nokia in Los Angeles at 5 p.m. on Friday April 10 as part of the first ever ESPN College Basketball Awards Show Presented by Wendy’s.