Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

50 Former Football Captains To Be Honored This Weekend

Sept. 4, 2003

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – College Football Hall of Fame inductee Jim Lynch headlines a star-studded list of nearly 50 returning Notre Dame football captains who will be honored this weekend in conjunction with the Sept. 6 Notre Dame-Washington State football game.

Current Irish football coach Tyrone Willingham issued the invitation to the former Irish captains to present them with commemorative pins that indicate their selections as captains. The first captains’ pins were presented in December to the 2002 captains at the annual Notre Dame football Banquet.

The former players will be introduced and honored Friday night at the pep rally (6:00 p.m. EST at the Joyce Center – captains will sit on the floor with the 2003 team and be introduced beginning about 6:15 p.m.). The pins will actually be presented at the Notre Dame National Monogram Club’s reception at 10:00 a.m. EST, Saturday in auxiliary gym #2 of the Joyce Center. Then, the captains again will be introduced on the field as part of the halftime ceremonies for the Notre Dame-Washington State game.

In addition to Lynch, the impressive list of returning captains includes consensus All-Americans George Kunz (1968), Dave Casper (1973), Al Ecuyer (1957), Bob Golic (1978), Vagas Ferguson (1979), Tom Gatewood (1970), Greg Marx (1972), Walt Patulski (1971), John Scully (1980), Mike Townsend (1973) and Chris Zorich (1990).

Here’s the complete listing of returning captains:

Year Hometown Position Name
1951 Beaver Falls, PA E Jim Mutscheller
1955 Sioux City, IA T Ray Lemek
1956 Muskegon, MI HB Jim Morse
1957 Homewood, IL E Dick Prendergast
1957 McKeesport, PA T Ed Sullivan
1958 New Orleans, LA G Al Ecuyer
1958 E. Chicago, IN T Chuck Puntillo
1959 Atlanta, GA G Ken Adamson
1960 Van Voorhis, PA G Myron Pottios
1961 Springfield, MA G Nick Buoniconti
1963 Louisville, KY G Bob Lehmann
1964 Atlanta, GA G James Carroll
1965 Rutherford, NJ SE Phil Sheridan
1966 Lima, OH LB Jim Lynch
1968 Arcadia, CA OT/TE George Kunz
1968-69 Superior, WI LB Bob Olson
1970 Springfield, OH LB Tim Kelly
1971 Baltimore, MD SE Tom Gatewood
1971 Liverpool, NY DE Walt Patulski
1972 Kermit, TX OG John Dampeer
1972 Redford, MI DT Greg Marx
1973 Chilton, WI TE/OT Dave Casper
1973 Howard Beach, NY OG Frank Pomarico
1973 Hamilton, OH CB/FS Mike Townsend
1975 Barberton, OH LB Jim Stock
1977 Saginaw, MI HB Terry Eurick
1978 Cleveland, OH LB Bob Golic
1979 Richmond, IN HB Vagas Ferguson
1979 Cincinnati, OH OT Tim Foley
1980 Huntington, NY C John Scully
1981-82 Tacoma, WA HB Phil Carter
1982 Muncie, IN SS Dave Duerson
1984 Fostoria, OH SS Joe Johnson
1984 Santa Ana, CA OT Larry Williams
1985 Chicago, IL LB Tony Furjanic
1985 Cincinnati, OH LB Mike Larkin
1985 Sterling, VA TB Allen Pinkett
1985 State College, PA OG Tim Scannell
1986 New Castle, IN LB Mike Kovaleski
1987 Germantown, TN C Chuck Lanza
1988 Riverside, CA TB Mark Green
1988-89 Phillpsburg, NJ LB Ned Bolcar
1990 Chicago, IL DT Chris Zorich
1994 Ernul, NC TB Lee Becton
1995 Chicago, IL DT Brian Hamilton
1995 Indianapolis, IN SE Derrick Mayes
1996 Kansas City, KS ILB Lyron Cobbins

Also represented Saturday will be the family of the late Mike Lind (1967).

NOTE TO MEDIA: You are welcome to cover any aspect of the appearances by the captains, whether it’s the Friday pep rally, Saturday morning presentations, or halftime recognition. Check with John Heisler if you have any questions.