Linebacker Jim Lynch served as the captain of the 1966 national championship team.

1966 Football National Championship Team To Be Honored

Sept. 28, 2006

1966 Season Highlights –

Notre Dame’s storied football history has featured 11 consensus national championships — and this weekend the University will recognize one of those teams that is celebrating the 40th anniversary of its national title.

The 1966 Irish team proved to be one of the most dominant in the history of college football. They set records beginning with the first game of the season when end Jim Seymour caught a record 13 passes from quarterback Terry Hanratty for 276 yards and three scores in a win over Purdue. On the offensive side that year, Hanratty and Seymour joined consensus halfback selection Nick Eddy, along with Tom Regner, Paul Seiler, George Goeddeke and Larry Conjar in winning All-America honors.

Meanwhile a dominant defense led by All-Americans Jim Lynch, Alan Page, Pete Duranko, Kevin Hardy and Tom Schoen allowed only 38 combined points all season. Notre Dame shut out six of its 10 opponents, including wins over 10th-ranked Oklahoma and 10th-rated USC.

In addition to their on the field honors, both Lynch and Regner were named Academic All-Americans.

Notre Dame led the nation in scoring that season, averaging 36.2 points per game – and finished 2nd in scoring defense at just 3.8 points per contest.

Ladies and gentlemen, please join us in recognizing one of the most heralded teams in college football history — head coach Ara Parseghian, captain Jim Lynch and the 1966 Notre Dame national championship football team.