Senior Ailish Sheehan was named to the all-ACC second team at the 2014 ACC Championship

#19 Irish Off To Clemson For ACC Rowing Championship

May 14, 2015


NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Rowing Championship returns to a familiar site this weekend, as the conference championship regatta will be held on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, South Carolina for the 13th time in 16 years. Four ranked teams, including the University of Notre Dame rowing team, are included in the nine-team field vying for the ACC Championship on Friday and Saturday.

Friday’s evening session begins with heat one of the third varsity eight at 6 p.m. (ET). The championship finals are scheduled to begin on Saturday at 8:05 a.m., with coverage available for the finals session on ESPN3. Dean Linke and Steve Pritzker will have the call of Saturday’s racing.

Notre Dame, ranked 19th in the most recent Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) poll, finished as regatta runner-up during its inaugural ACC Championship in 2014. The Irish scored 67 points to finish just behind conference favorite Virginia, who won its fifth consecutive ACC title on Lake Hartwell.

Notre Dame won 10 consecutive BIG EAST Conference Championships from 2004-13, taking 10 of the 13 conference regattas contested under the league’s previous configuration.

Joining Notre Dame and No. 3 Virginia in the ACC Championship field is No. 16 Syracuse, No. RV Louisville, host Clemson, Duke, Boston College, Miami and North Carolina. Louisville will make its inaugural ACC Championship appearance during the program’s first season as a conference member.

Notre Dame is the official number three seed in the varsity eight, the second varsity eight, the varsity four and the second varsity four. The Irish third varsity eight crew enters the championship regatta seeded fourth overall. Virginia qualified as the top seed in all five events.

2015 ACC Rowing Championship Schedule of Events

Friday, May 15
Time             Event
6:00pm        III Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
6:10pm        III Varsity Eight (Heat 2)
6:20pm        II Varsity Four (Heat 1)
6:30pm        II Varsity Four (Heat 2)
6:40pm        I Varsity Four (Heat 1)
6:50pm        I Varsity Four (Heat 2)
7:00pm        II Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
7:10pm        II Varsity Eight (Heat 2)
7:20pm        I Varsity Eight (Heat 1)
7:30pm        I Varsity Eight (Heat 2)
Saturday, May 16
8:05 am     III Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
8:15 am       III Varsity Eight (Grand Final)
8:25 am       II Varsity Four (Petite Final)
8:35 am       II Varsity Four (Grand Final)
8:45 am       I Varsity Four (Petite Final)
8:55 am       I Varsity Four (Grand Final)
9:05 am       II Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
9:15 am       II Varsity Eight (Grand Final)
9:25 am       I Varsity Eight (Petite Final)
9:35 am       I Varsity Eight (Grand Final)
10:00 am     Awards Ceremony